Skip to content ↓

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) comprises of nursery and reception.

We provide challenging learning experiences, that help develop our children’s independence. Opportunities to practise skills through play, are abundant.

Our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum, is assessed in seven categories. We use examples from the government (Early years exemplification materials) which illustrate what being ‘at the expected standard,’ would look like for each goal.

Find out more about the Early years (under 5s) statutory foundation stage framework (EYFS)

Communication and Language

Speaking and listening skills, understanding, following instructions and answering questions.

Personal and Social Development

Making friends, sharing, taking turns and negotiating.  Talking about feelings and behaviours.

Physical Development

Kicking, hopping, jumping, skipping, threading, holding pencils and letter formation.


Reading, writing and phonics.


Numbers, shapes, counting, adding, subtracting and problem solving.

Expressive arts and design

Singing, dancing, making rhythms, drawings, paintings, imaginative play and creating using their own ideas.

The World

Technology, nature, the environment and how to care for it, changes, life cycles, families and communities.



Outdoor learning

Throughout the day children take part in many different experiences.  We encourage the children to spend time outside, experiencing different weather conditions and taking part in messy play.

Our favourite outdoor learning experiences are when the seasons change. Our season walks, take us on a journey around our outdoor areas, including the wildlife area. We get to discuss changes to plants, weather, pond life and more.


Parents and carers for children in either nursery or reception, now have access to a great new service called Tapestry. Find out more on our Tapestry page.